Are Obstacles Boulders or Stepping-Stones?

Ever feel like giving up?  Think about where you are now in your life right now and consider all the obstacles you had to overcome to get where you are.  Now pat yourself on the back and tell yourself, well done.

I’ve always said, since being diagnosed with cancer that Cancer was my Teacher.  It came at a time of my life that set me on a new path. It helped me find the direction I needed to pursue my dreams that I kept putting on hold.  It felt like an insurmountable obstacle and yet, once overcome, I looked back with such gratitude for the lesson it brought. I had  found a new life. 

boulder Not all obstacles are as big as cancer, they often come in smaller more manageable ‘installments’. Ones that are quite often more of an inconvenience and depending on our stress levels may seem like a mountain or a mole hill. (Or in the case of our inspirational story below, a boulder.)  If we see each and everyone as our teacher, we’ll find the lesson and find the strength within to overcome whatever life throws at us.

The Boulder

In ancient times, a King had a boulder placed on a road-way. Then he hid himself and watched to see if anyone would remove the huge rock. Some of the king’s wealthiest merchants and courtiers came by and simply walked around it. Many loudly blamed the King for not keeping the roads clear, but none did anything about getting the stone out-of-the-way.

Then a peasant came along carrying a load of vegetables. Upon approaching the boulder, the peasant laid down his burden and tried to move the stone to the side of the road. After much pushing and straining, he finally succeeded. After the peasant picked up his load of vegetables, he noticed a purse lying in the road where the boulder had been. The purse contained many gold coins and a note from the King indicating that the gold was for the person who removed the boulder from the roadway.

The peasant learned what many of us never understand! Every obstacle presents an opportunity to improve our condition.

 

May all you turn all your boulders into stepping-stones on your journey called Life.

About Camilla

I once was a caterpillar but when I grew up I found I had the most beautiful wings.
This entry was posted in Words of Wisdom and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are Obstacles Boulders or Stepping-Stones?

  1. Rochelle says:

    Very inspiring, Cams!

I'd love to hear from you

