Trust Epiphany

Trust QuoteI’ve experienced my fair share of broken promises and had people in my life that I’ve stopped trusting for various reasons.

I had a realisation about it today.

Each time my trust is broken; whether it is by a promise broken, a confidence breached or credibility dashed it seems my trust bank is depleted.

This same trust bank is where I find my own source of trust, so each time I allow someone to make a withdrawal I am not replenishing it for myself or others. This means that I am less trusting of others and even worse – myself.

For me, it has meant that I second guess my ability to trust myself. If I trusted someone and they broke it, I question whether I was wrong about them all along? And if that is so, then how can I trust myself not to make the same mistake again? Anyone else experience this? I hesitate and procrastinate, I miss opportunities. I do not grow.

How many others that are deserving of my trust don’t get it based on my own experience of it? They were not the ones to break it.

If trust is ‘the firm belief in the reliability, truth, ability or strength of someone or something’, then I have power over what I believe in. As a belief is a choice, I am empowered to choose to replenish my trust bank.

I saw this quote, “At some point we need to trust ourselves, so it might as well be today.”

My promise to myself:  I’m going to trust myself to know more than I think I do. I’m going to trust I can make the right decisions for me. I’m going to trust others even though I know they have the power to hurt me as I know I can choose to make more deposits into my trust bank just by making the choice to do so.

I can’t say I’m ready to trust those that have depleted my trust; however, I going to be more mindful of not letting their follies influence my own abilities negatively or take away from others that are worthy of receiving mine.

About Camilla

I once was a caterpillar but when I grew up I found I had the most beautiful wings.
This entry was posted in Words of Wisdom and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you

